1-98. Office of the President.  Administrative records of the the Office of the President. 91 linear feet. 1964-.

The University has had five Presidents since its founding in 1935:
Ernest A. Lowe, 1935-1941;
J. Thomas Askew, 1941-1943;
Foreman M. Hawes, 1943-1964;
Henry L. Ashmore, 1964-1982;
Robert A. Burnett, 1982-1999.

The records of Presidents Ashmore and Burnett form the bulk of this record group, which is divided into two sub groups:
1-49, Administrative Records of Henry L. Ashmore
50-75, Administrative Records of Robert A. Burnett

Henry Ashmore's administration is thoroughly documented. Robert Burnett filled several positions at Armstrong before becoming acting President in 1982. Dr. Burnett's files as Vice-President and Dean of Faculty are arranged together with his records as President. Burnett's records from the 1990's are in process and not yet described.

The University Archives holds few records form the Office of the President for the period 1935-1960. Some of President Hawe's correspondence with faculty survives in the Ashmore records, but otherwise the records from the first three presidencies are not held and are believed to no long exist.  The record books from the Armstrong State College Commission (RG 98-100) document the College's adminstration during this period.

University Archives Home                                    Finding Aid Home                                            Next Section